Skip to content

February 22, 2017

I have posted some thoughtless things on Facebook. Bumpersticker Politics, Driveby Sniping, Brainbypass Commenting.

Donald Trump changed all that.

I don’t like him, think he’s all that’s wrong with Narcissistic America, and I did everything I could to make sure neither Clinton nor Trump won the election. Feel the power—NOT.

I called both of them things on Facebook, many of which weren’t true about Trump (all were true about Clinton). Things like racist and misogynist. Neither of which I think are true any longer.

Let me back up a bit. I’d changed my ways re: President Obama because I didn’t like the name calling so many of my FBF (Facebook Friends; not to be confused with RLF; Real-life Friend, although there is a lot of overlap) were engaged in.  So I purposed to refer to him as President Obama, or at worst simply Obama. Respect the office if not who holds it.

Then, after the election (I still pinch myself every morning to see if it’s all a bad dream), I saw posts of fear and outrage, many getting the facts wrong.

Then the whole immigration thing happened and Facebook went even crazier. Having done a little research, I’ve been concerned about how much immigration is happening. I’ve got nothing against controlled immigration, a lot against illegal immigration, and not nearly enough knowledge to have an informed opinion on the immigration pause. That didn’t stop everyone else from posting about it, but it stopped me.

Meanwhile, FBF who castigate people protesting abortion for sharing their opinion passionately, are suddenly protesting… okay, I’m not sure what they’re protesting… but they’re doing it passionately, and suddenly it’s alright to share their opinion loudly.

Here’s the thing: There’s enough wrong about Trump that you don’t have to make things up.

The man is a communications nightmare. I can’t listen to him or watch him. He’s his own favorite subject and speaks really badly about everything. But he isn’t racist for wanting to stop illegal immigration; and the criminals he spoke about as rapists and murderers are from the illegal immigrant criminal subset, not all Mexicans and not even all illegal aliens.  He speaks badly about a subset of black people who commit heinous crimes, not all of them. He said some awful things a long time ago about what celebrities can do to women. That makes him crude and gross, and saying what most male celebrities know to be true. Was he misogynist because he said it, did it or thought it? Because I don’t see anyone boycotting movies. He hires people of color and women to key roles. A racist and misogynist wouldn’t do that.

All of that to say I have been convicted to only make thoughtful or funny posts on Facebook. If I don’t have enough information, I won’t post. If it would hurt someone’s feelings without presenting the hope of the gospel at the same time, then I won’t post it.

It’s really tempting to take on the FBF who do. I did that once and he blocked me before I could block him. Posting wisely is easy. Commenting wisely takes some effort.

So, naturally I’m proud of myself for this conviction. Then at church last Sunday our really terrific pastor commented on the same thing (-ish). But I was doing it already!  Pride fizzles out like a balloon. Now no one will believe I reached that conclusion independently.

I also know in this post, I’ve probably ticked off a lot of readers (I have more now, and some of them are foodies! I love foodies!), using the words “illegal immigrant” and “illegal aliens.”  I use them for accuracy, not rancor. I strive for that because I’m a writer, and while I adore fiction, I love the truth. (FWIW, I like the idea of a guest worker program, and yes I understand food will become more expensive, but I eat a lot of processed food (sorry foodies!), so maybe fake food won’t be effected.

Make lasagna, not war!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Roxanne Chin permalink
    February 23, 2017 5:03 am

    Excellent post!
    I love lasagna. 😉

  2. February 23, 2017 10:49 am

    I think we can all agree on lasagna, Or can we? There is ricotta vs cottage cheese (ricotta is the only choice in my opinion, and I find it hard not to judge the cottage people). Then there is meat versus veggie. Seriously, you have to have meat. I don’t know if I can be friends with the veggie people. It is simply not enough to only have lasagna noodle in common. And don’t get me started on homemade vs jarred pasta sauce.

  3. February 23, 2017 9:00 pm

    I’m guessing Stouffers Frozen Lasagna will get me excommunicated…

    Lynette, dinner at the Andersons!

Leave a Reply

