Skip to content

My Little Sprout

January 3, 2017

When I was a wee child, I had a Little Sprout.

Wherever you’re going with that, you’re wrong.

L’il Sprout was a stuff doll; the side-kick of the Jolly Green Giant, who was the primary slinger of peas and green beans, as in “Ho-Ho-Ho, Green Giant!” Vintage Jolly Green Giant Plush Promo Little Sprout Fabric Doll Advertising ToyImage result for Green Giant

 

 

 

 

 

 

I loved L’il Sprout. Ironic, because I hated peas and green beans.  The only way I could get to sleep was if Sprout was in my clutches. No Sprout, no sleep. My sister could torment me by stealing Sprout for the evening. Somewhere around 7 or 8, I gave up L’il Sprout, even though I secretly cried every night for weeks.

After a couple weeks, I found I could sleep without L’il Sprout, until I hit puberty, and then I didn’t sleep for 14 years. An inveterate insomniac, I hated going to bed where my ceiling mocked me. It would take HOURS to fall asleep.

Then I married at 27, and all was right with the evening. I fell asleep quickly with my bride beside me. L’il Sprout had nothing on her, let me tell you.

So, last night, she was in Pensacola, and I was staring at the ceiling, punching my pillows and swearing I would never let her spend the night away from me again, which is what I swear every time she’s gone over night.

Thankfully, she’s home tonight. Unlike L’il Sprout, I will never outgrow Lynette.

(Yes, L’il Sprout is for sale on eBay for $5. I do not want one. Do not buy me one. I know both readers of my blog and you’re both very generous and kind and think of other people more than yourself. Read it again. I don’t want one. Thank you very much).

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Roxanne Chin permalink
    January 4, 2017 6:25 am

    Just want you to know. I love your blog. =)
    So, now you have three readers!

  2. January 10, 2017 10:55 am

    Oh the temptation! I will not buy you a Little Sprout even for the bargain price of $5. I figure your dog would eat it and that might traumatize your nighttime hours when Lynette is out of town. I wouldn’t do that to you.

Leave a Reply

