Skip to content

A New Definition of Dream House

February 23, 2016

I experienced something bizarre the other night. I dreamt that we made a lowball offer on a house we’d previously looked at. It was a unique home with some roofing problems and backyard with potential beneath the jungle.  The house was big with several functional rooms and at the peak, a tiny room that disturbed me before, but now I realized was just a walk-in closet. The offer was a quarter of what the owners had been asking, but it had been on the market for a long time, so we were hopeful.

Then I woke up, and wondered why I was dreaming about a house we’d looked at before and had rejected. Maybe my subconscious was telling me something. I tried to remember where it was, and could picture the neighborhood, somewhere near our old house. I just couldn’t recall how to get there. This is nothing new for my horrible sense of direction. I can often remember where a place is, and where I am, but not have any clue how to get there from here.

I thought about the house and how we’d have to replace the orange shag carpet, despite the soft feel of it. The TV room could be separate from the downstairs living room, and it had a ramp that went down to a good office space. I squinted my eyes. A ramp?  Thinking a bit more, I realized the house was a four-story house but the inside actually had multiple levels, connected by ramps, slides and stairs.

This wasn’t a real house, this was a house I’d dreamed about before, but remembered with incredible detail. And for a moment, I believed it was real. Which makes me wonder how many of my memories are actually dreams? More than I might suspect.

The brain doesn’t know a dream isn’t real. It even secretes a paralyzing hormone so the dreamer doesn’t act out their dream. The few dreams that get stored in long-term memory are indistinguishable from reality until logic is applied, and even then, the characteristic blank spaces in a dream can be filled in by an active mind. Makes me wonder about the psychiatric patients who discover all sorts of abuse from their childhood brought out by hypno-therapy? I don’t doubt some/most are very real, but I wonder how many were just forgotten dreams? I’ve had some doozy nightmares that could get some people in trouble if I trumpeted it as real. I also wonder how mentally damaging dreams can be?

I did kinda like that house, though.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2016 1:23 pm

    I was with my mom yesterday and we were talking about doctors – they have many at this point in their lives. I told mom I hated our doctor as a kid but it was probably because I was scared every time I went there. I had a weird thing happen when I was a kid that left me unable to walk for a few days and gave me great leg pain for nearly a year. Mom didn’t remember that. Later I found myself scratching my head wondering if that had been a dream. I’m confident that it wasn’t – fairly confident anyway.

  2. February 24, 2016 2:03 pm

    I can beat that. I couldn’t walk for three years, from 6-9 years of age. My dad didn’t remember it at all (which is weird, because he did a lot to help me through that time), and my sister didn’t think it was that long. Boy, I wish that was a dream, since the leg still hurts and always will.

Leave a Reply

