Skip to content

25 Years of Wedded Amazement

February 8, 2016

I don’t think you figure out who you really are until you’re married. I know that sounds like an indictment of single people. Mucho sorry, but there it is.

I thought I knew.  When I was single, I got so much done! I flitted among the social circles, convinced myself as well as others that I was an alright dude.

Then I met my other half. She believed in me so much that my own self-belief paled in comparison. She believed in me so much that I began to doubt I could be so good. And, boy was that doubt right.

When the Bible talks about a married couple becoming one flesh, that such intimacy and comfort was so close it was inside, it knew what it was talking about. Here I was, loving my wife more than I thought could be humanly possible, and I was regularly bad to her.

Oh, THIS is what you meant by sinner, Lord!

When someone loves us so much, you’d think we’d be wonderful to them all the time.  We aren’t wonderful to God, so it should be no surprise we aren’t with our wives. But we thought we would be, and aren’t. Yet through it all, she extends grace. She puts up with all the things that had been invisible to me before. She sees weakness that she could strike at. But doesn’t. She sees hypocrisy that she could expose. But doesn’t. She sees ugliness… and loves me anyway.

My beautiful wife is a picture of God to me. Not in an idolatrous way, because idols just sit there. She is an active, sin-defying, forgiving woman of unimaginable meekness. She, more than any other human being, has the power to crush me into pieces. And doesn’t. Even when I give her excuse, she doesn’t.

Instead she believes in me.

When I sit and think about it, it takes my breath away.

I know; she’s a sinner too. But if we could stack up our sins like blocks side by side, my blocks are bigger and reach so much higher.

We’ve been married 25 years today. Perhaps this should be romantic and gushy, but the truth is she outstrips romance as a measure. She points me to God just by breathing. What is frilly lace and whispered words of fancy to such an awe inspiring truth?

My heart was dead within me, then God gave it life. Years later he gave me Lynette to give it joy.

Thank you, my amazing wife. You deserve so much better.

But I’m glad you have me, instead.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2016 5:32 pm

    This is so beautiful! Happy anniversary to you both.

  2. kverdeck permalink
    February 12, 2016 11:41 am

    25 years is nothing to sneeze at! Congrats and Happy Anniversary to you both. 🙂

Leave a Reply

