Skip to content

Spoiler-Free Discussion on Avengers: The Age of Ultron

May 9, 2015

Well, it seems firmly established that the age of Ultron is a couple weeks (yuck, yuck)…Avengers Age of Ultron.jpg

Great flick. I’m not going to discuss story, plot or any other spoiler-potential topics, so feel free to read on if you haven’t seen it. A small disclaimer: This is a comic book movie and it’s judged on that merit. I don’t think it’s high art or transcendent or anything more than a popcorn movie.

  • I think this was a great film. Other people (like my wife) would find it boring. Okay, only my wife would find it boring, but I love her anyway. (OK, people annoyed with the Marvel formula will also be bored).
  • Since I was a kid, fanboys have discussed casting of the Avengers. We knew nothing of big screen/little screen dynamics, never thought about acting skill, just who would looked right. Here, they picked great actors who really shine AND look right (well, to me a young Ashley Judd would be the ideal Black Widow. Johansson is okay, but she doesn’t have a ballerina face). Evans and Hemsworth are going to be around for a long time; Downey also rocked. Rufallo has some great moments. Renner and Johansson – eh, good enough.
  • MOMENTS describes this film. The whole show is fun, but the moments outstrip the whole. Not often you’ll hear that.
  • I originally balked at Spader voicing Ultron. Silly me, I was expecting the comic book version of Ultron. This one was SO MUCH better. Spader makes a great bad guy because he doesn’t come off as a bad guy, just a strange, otherly-motivated character. The new Ultron to a T.
  • My only complaint is that the CGI is very uneven. I really thought we were going to pull back in the beginning sequence and find them all playing a video game of themselves. They weren’t.
  • My only other complaint is that I wanted to see “the relationship” develop a bit more, and the CGI fights could have easily been trimmed to accommodate that.
  • My wish is that Captain Marvel had been introduced.
  • The times they all sat around chatting… best parts of the movie.
  • There are some subtle political/spiritual allusions in this film; Ultron as a millennial seeing all that’s wrong and nothing that’s good about humanity; Vision as a being of hope who sees so much more.
  • A comment in general about Marvel movies: I think I’d be able to sit through a couple hours of Best Scenes clips. Here the set-ups were scene-spanning, but I bet it could be done.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

