Skip to content

Nights of the Albino Frogs

July 27, 2014

My dog paces at night, too afraid to go outside.  The croaking sounds like angry giants walking in gravel. 

Let me back up.  Our pool is an algae farm I fight with gallons of chlorine.  Eventually we’re getting a pool service, but right now the thing is toxic (it’s the cleanest it’s been in a long time, so of course a pipe blew up yesterday.  I’m waiting for the glue to dry to see if I broke anything else fixing that).  I thought this would keep the frogs at bay, but last night, when the croaking was insane, I flipped on the patio light.  Glow-in-the-dark frogs peppered the vacuum hose.  I went out to scare them off and found myself amidst dozens, literally dozens, of albino frogs.  The concrete took on life as they scrambled away from me.

These frogs are not supposed to be white; they are greenish-brown Cuban frogs (you can tell by their little cigars).  The chlorinated water is a doing a Michael Jackson on them.  I know because that’s the color of a frog that got sucked up in the vacuum and was waiting for me in the leaf basket, stiff as our old science class frogs.

I’d think turning pasty white would deter any self-respecting frog, but it’s pool party night every night at the Swanson’s.  

Maybe I should invite the Duck Dynasty gang to join us for evening snacks.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 28, 2014 8:33 am

    Sorry that I can’t press “like” for this one. Those frogs are creepy.

Leave a Reply

