Skip to content

A Little Slice of Heaven

February 16, 2014

As volunteers in the 10-month to 36-month kids in Sunday School today, my daughter and I got to spend time with an amazing group of children.  In part because several of these kids are the kids of kids I taught in Sunday School when we first started coming to this church.  In fact, the little blonde girl with the big eyes and love for books looks just like her momma, who was just a few years older when I first met her.  

There was also a little red-head who is the son of another little kid I know who has grown up to be a wonderful friend and now father.  Yet another boy is the son of an impressive young woman we first met playing volleyball lo those many years ago.  And, of course, there were several kids whose parents I didn’t know yet.  All in all, an impressive bunch of rug-rats.

I love this age because the kids haven’t learned to hide their emotions yet, and character begins to really display.  That little blonde girl is compassionate, worrying about each unhappy child and making sure another had his blanket.  Last we she had me to herself, we happily read books.  This week, I had a new little fellow who just wanted my lap.  Blondie wasn’t too happy with this, so she re-situated him to one knee so she could have the other.  She kept us supplied in books and ran around making sure everyone was taken care of, but never let my free knee become occupied by anyone else.  It’s wonderful to be loved by little people.

OK, I’ll be in blinding pain for next couple days and walk with a limp, but it’s worth it.  I’m telling you, concerned about the next generation?  Hang with some littles.  It changes your perspective.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2014 10:56 pm

    Such a sweet post. I especially like the part about the little blonde girl. She sounds exceptional.

  2. February 19, 2014 9:34 am

    Thank you for capturing your time serving our children in this way, this is excellent!

Leave a Reply

