Skip to content

Ode to a Polite Reptile

February 5, 2014

During the deep cold snap that affected Florida last week, I had a polite visitor outside my office door. 

First, let me point out, my office is in the garage.  You walk into the garage, avoid debris, dance around boxes and enter my office through a door (to be fair, much of the debris was recently removed.  It will build back up again.)  The garage was bitter cold; my office, fairly warm.

Last week, a lizard stood outside my door.  He wasn’t demanding or rude.  He just pointed his little snout at my door and waited for an invitation.  So I invited him.  My door has a small gap at the bottom.  He could have just walked in and gotten warm.  But he waited and I invited.  I was not, however, going to bring him in.  If he wanted entrance, he needed but walk. 

Okay, I get that he was cold and probably not all that mobile.  He did, however, move when prodded.  Every day for a week he moved.

Yesterday he didn’t move.  He still looked great.  Maybe not to another lizard, but to me he seemed fit and healthy.  But he was dead.

And he’s still dead.

Mourn with me.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2014 12:45 pm

    I’m a good mourner, so count me in. Poor lizard.

  2. February 8, 2014 9:18 am

    What a quirky post. I love it, but I find it impossible to mourn a lizard. I know I’m more hard-hearted than Debi. I will say that I’m sorry you are experiencing “loss,” and that I’m sure more lizards will come to comfort you.

Leave a Reply

