Skip to content

God has a Weird Sense of Humor

August 15, 2013

I dislike rap music almost as much as I love God, which is to say, a lot.

So why… no, how… no, why… are the girls of my family obsessed with Christian Rap?  Fortunately the words are still indistinguishable so I can hate it without feeling sacrilegious (and why is it in nasty rap, the only words that are understandable are the obscene words?).

Honestly, I was short-changed as a child.  Parents are supposed to hate their kid’s music, but Dad actually liked rock.  I’ll be forever maimed from walking in from school and Dad’s singing “If Ya Think I’m Sexy” and pretending to be Rod Stewart. Thank goodness I was already 6 feet because I’m sure that stunted my growth.

To round out the weirdness, my daughter is equally obsessed with Hip-Hop and Big Band music from the 40s.  How that doesn’t give her whiplash I’ll never know.  While they’re in the house being repulsive, I’m in my office rocking out to 80s music.  It’s fine until Rod Stewart comes on….

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 16, 2013 12:46 pm

    Repulsive? Harsh. don’t worry they will move on to something else. Kids change just like the size of their close. Maybe you need to change the size of your close???? Try country 80’s can where you down. And I never saw dad sing any song let alone Rod Stewart. If you really saw that lucky you. You saw a dad as a human and not just a dad figure. Cool

Leave a Reply

