Skip to content

Another Economic Solution

March 11, 2013

If I’m caught in a conflict-of-interest, I’d be fired, and rightly so.  Yet Congress and the Senate regularly vote despite massive conflict-of-interest.

I propose that a rotating committee of educated, randomly selected citizens be commissioned and convened once a year or as necessary, but never exceeding once a quarter, to vote on any laws that benefit Congress.  This would include:

  • Pay raises/Pay cuts (let’s cut them to minimum wage or less and see how many stick it out)
  • Benefits (same as us)
  • Retirement plans (as in, no pension unless, despite responsible living, a plan is necessary; means testing UNLESS irresponsible living is proven)
  • Laws of Legislative behavior (ANY crimes evicts someone from the House and Senate)
  • Lobbyist interaction (blind interaction and contributions only, in writing, never in person)
  • Term limits (only two times at bat)
  • Performance expectations (no budget Senate?  Send in replacements and don’t let the door hit you on the way out)
  • Campaign funding (blind only and only to certain equal limit)
  • Auditing (taxes, open personal finances, etc.)
  • Sunshine laws (an independent auditor in every meeting; no closed door meetings; classified meeting have special independent auditors with clearance)

It is insane to give these crooks carte blanche.  Let’s reel them in!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Roxanne Chin permalink
    March 27, 2013 12:02 pm

    Hi Rob,I’ve thoroughly enjoyed reading your “Swanstuff” posts, but that’s not why I’m sending this email. It looks like I won’t be able to make it tomorrow night to the Writer’s Block meeting. I did accomplish my goal of 4 stories and wondered if I could send them to you. I’m not sure about the ending of one and a few other things and would love your input.If you’re too busy, I completely understand and will save them for the next meeting.Please let me know.Thank you,~Roxanne

    Date: Tue, 12 Mar 2013 01:20:16 +0000 To: roxannechin@hotmail.com

  2. March 27, 2013 5:00 pm

    Now that I’m not on my phone: please email them to me, I’d love to read them. Thanks for being one of my three readers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

