Skip to content

An Exploration of What I Believe

September 14, 2012

 

I believe regular anagnorisis is vital to living a life of truth and amazement.  Anagnorisis is described in Greek literature as the moment of discovery; the sudden awareness that something we believe is utterly wrong, a blinding-light moment where the scales drop from our eyes and we realize where we truly are.

My life has been a series of anagnorisis moments; so much so that my “life verse” is found in 1 Kings 19:11 – “A great and strong wind tore the mountains and broke in pieces the rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. And after the wind an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake.  And after the earthquake a fire, but the LORD was not in the fire.  And after the fire, the sound of a low whisper…. And God said, “What are you doing here?

What a great question.  “What are you doing here?”  The subtext is, “everything YOU did that brought you here is wrong. Take a second look.”

I believe we should constantly take that second look.  My purpose is to facilitate anagnorisis in myself and others through teaching, writing and thought-provoking questions and comments.  Whether fiction or non-fiction, I strive to make people question what they think is true to find what is; tricky, since I’m often wrong myself, so I strive to question myself and my perceptions.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2012 3:51 pm

    That may be the most unique life verse ever.

  2. September 21, 2012 7:46 pm

    If you think that’s weird, my personal totem is the Rhino: Three thousand pounds, sharp horn, able to run 35 miles and hour and can only see 3 feet in front of them.

    I go for things that keep me humble….

Leave a Reply

