Skip to content

NASCAR

February 28, 2012

I just don’t get it.  I remember getting excited about the Daytona 500 when I was a lit

tle kid.  Dad would get munchies, we’d flip on the set and dig in.  After a few laps, Dad would be reading and I’d stick around as long as the munchies held out, then I’d go out a play.  Alone, because everyone else on our Seattle suburb block

, adult and kids alike, would be in watching cars go around in circles.  Occasionally, Dad would look up and hoot because Pay n’ Pac passed Budweiser (or maybe that was Thunderboats. Same principle).  Big deal.  We watched people pass each other on the freeway without fanfare.

Then there’s the crashes.  I admit to enjoying the Thunderboat races a lot more than NASCAR.  The boats had more spectacular crashes and somehow, drivers rarely got hurt.  It was kind of funny.  If we passed a wreck on the street, I’d be told not to look.  On TV we could cheer.

Oddly, the most exciting part of the Daytona 500 was the pit crew changing tires.  Boy, that’s saying something right there.  Amazing that Tires Plus doesn’t have a crowd gathering every day.

I do recall asking Dad why going 500 laps in a circle doesn’t make them dizzy.  He said, “Dunno, makes me dizzy watching.  Pass the Frito’s.”

I had my first sip of beer watching the D500.  Didn’t like that either.

My dear neighbor, though, loves NASCAR.  That’s good enough for me.  Kathy’s the best neighbor ever, so for her sake, I hope the 500 gets televised every year.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

