Skip to content

Superman and the Avengers

October 30, 2011

No, no, not together.  Different universes and all that, so it’s “Superman”  and “the Avengers” movies separately.

First, the Man of Steel.  No trailer yet, just the announcement of Henry Cavil and a new costume.  See below.

I don’t know Cavil, but he looks good.  The costume does not.  The logo is a bit like the 50’s logo, not my favorite, and the blue is all wrong.  That’s almost grey instead of blue.  The red is muted as well.  I suppose the designs are supposed to break it up a bit since they don’t want the underoos on the outside, but call me a purist, the yellow belt and red briefs are weird, but cool.  Not sure what Siegal and Shuster were thinking when they put the underwear on the outside to begin with, but now they’re as iconic as the big red S.  A+ for the build, C- for the costume design.

Now, the Avengers trailer… I’m underwhelmed.  Not overwhelmed, certainly not whelmed, definitely underwhelmed.  And it’s probably not fair.  I’d like to say it didn’t live up to my expectations, but I didn’t really have any expectations.  To be fair, I’m not a fan of Loki being the bad guy.  With only one “magical” member, it seems one-sided.

It’s been bugging me that I can’t pin down what bothers me about the trailer, but maybe I just figured it out.  In their individual movies, Tony Stark, Bruce Banner and Steve Rogers were important to their story (and to a lessor extent will be in this movie) but the Avengers are Thor, Iron Man, Captain America, Hawkeye, Black Widow (?– no, this should be the Wasp and where’s Giant Man?).  We saw a lot of things blow up, Fury walking with a gun, Steve and Tony arguing, Hawkeye and Black Widow posing and finally Iron Man… flying…. where’s the action?  Where’s the heroes beating on bad guys?  Where is the team synergy?

To be fair, a movie about the Avengers will be really hard to pull off, but of all things, the trailer should make us believe they can do it.  It looks like they pulled all the dull parts out for the movie.

To sum up: I don’t like the costume for Superman, but I think I’ll like the movie from what I’ve read.  I’ll see the Avengers, but I don’t have high hopes.  I’m guessing we’ll be hoping for good moments and maybe they’ll string them together for a good movie, but I have my doubts.  2012 will tell…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

