Skip to content

Blogging: Laundry Lint of the Mind

August 3, 2011

A good friend and wonderful blogger let me know about this blog awareness campaign to introduce tons of new readers to your blog… a laudable goal for my friend as she has a blog worthy of attention.  Alas, readership, while welcome, is not my goal (and a good thing, huh?).

My brain is a mass of scrambled eggs with more thoughts running through it than eggs through a prosperous chicken without a nest to catch them.  Several turn into a dozen unfinished novels and a few finished screenplays.  Most, however, are utterly useless, but they’re sticky.  They clump up in my grey matter and refuse to leave.  To switch metaphors, it’s like a clothes dryer churning out clean clothes, single socks and tons of lint.  If I don’t clean out the lint, the dryer goes crazy.

Another friend suggested a journal.  That doesn’t work for me, either.  Besides having atrocious handwriting, there is no audience… or potential audience, in this case.  A blog was the perfect solution.  You’re ostensibly writing for someone (an amorphous web surfer) and therefore it masquerades as “productive” as in “wink-wink, nod-nod” we pretend there’s an audience out there.

This satisfies my brain, saves my wife from having to listen to it and saves money on therapy.

How cool is that?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 11:55 am

    Heh-heh…. I posted this and WordPress told me it was my 355th post and how would I like to get more readers?

    I love irony.

  2. August 3, 2011 2:45 pm

    Totally cool. Have you ever thought about maybe doing one more thing while cleaning out the lint dryer? Maybe put some of those clothes in the bottom drawer for next season and see what there is to wear right now.

    From A Loyal Reader

  3. August 3, 2011 4:13 pm

    Ah, conviction, thy name is Bonnie…

  4. jennifer permalink
    August 5, 2011 10:17 am

    Perhaps you have more readers then you think. It’s just that some of us (specifically me) do not have anything running around in our brains. It’s pretty empty most of the time. (Usually just thinking of what I can have for a snack). But just because I do not have anything comments to post, does not mean I don’t enjoy you blog. 🙂

  5. jennifer permalink
    August 5, 2011 10:20 am

    I do not know what that icky face is next to my comment is, and I don’t know how to get rid of it. I would prefer a smiley face. Also, sorry for not checking spelling/grammer. Ooops. Maybe that is why I don’t post comments. 🙂

    • August 5, 2011 3:02 pm

      That “icky face” was a smiley face. Perhaps you should smile more, Jennifer, you might recognize it more readily. 🙂

  6. August 5, 2011 3:03 pm

    Oh! You mean the avatar! That is a photo of me in the morning when my alarm rings.

Leave a Reply

