Skip to content

Blogging – Journaling – Facebooking – Tweeting

January 12, 2011

My wife was lamenting that I don’t keep a journal (I used to, but it was a reminder of how pathetic I can be).  I said, “I blog.”  And while she doesn’t like blogging–reading or writing one–she thought that might be equivalent to journaling.

No it aint.

First, I only blog when I have something worth blogging about.  When I first started blogging, I thought I would have tons to blog about.  I have interesting thoughts, after all, right?

Much to my own personal sadness, no I don’t.  Warped thoughts? Yes.  Fleeting thoughts that might be interesting?  Occasionally.  Good ideas worth sharing.  Rarely.   Hence the irregular posting.

Facebook and Twitter, however?  Fleeting thoughts fit there, right?  Sure they do, they just don’t come on command.  My fleeting thoughts of interest don’t hit while I’m at the keyboard and my memory isn’t up to the task of holding such thoughts for later posting (for example, I’ve been intending to research the different TurboTax options for this year; I have that thought every day, just not near a computer.  When I’m at the computer, I don’t remember.  I won’t remember by the time I finish this post).

But then, I prefer my posts on Facebook mean something.  Not a concern for many, apparently, but it is for me.  So I’m more of a responsive Facebooker.  But even that has problems.  My current friends post funny, heartwarming (almost typed “heartworming” but caught it), or thoughtful pieces, which is great.  Some of my “found” friends or their friends, however, post some really dimwitted things (if you’re afraid that’s you, it’s not; dimwitted people don’t recognize themselves… conversely, if you don’t think it’s you, it’s probably still not you just because).  In the old days I’d just fire off something poignant but mean.  Nowadays I try to be more gracious, and failing that, I don’t post (or regret posting).  So I rarely post there either.

While WordPress, Facebook, and Twitter are meant to give people voice, all it’s done for me is point out how little I really have to say.

There, you two people who read this, you’ve just read a post about not posting.  Fulfilling, wasn’t it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara Schwab permalink
    January 12, 2011 11:10 am

    As the 3rd person to read this blog, I realize I should be posting comments more often so as not to be considered just a “lurker”. You definitely have interesting stuff to say, even when I don’t always agree with you!

    I find it hard to post regularly on Facebook, too, since I don’t think I have anything worthwhile to say in grand, public way. Does any one really care what I think?

  2. Malissa Rob's Favorite Friend permalink
    January 12, 2011 12:04 pm

    Thank you so much for linking this to FB. I haven’t read anything meaningless from you in a long time! For some reason I couldn’t find your blog. So you are up to 4 readers since Tara has joined. I will bookmark you again and look forward to all of your future meaningless rants!

  3. January 12, 2011 12:17 pm

    Two comments? I’ve died and gone to heaven!

    Y’know, Tara, I do care what you think. You seem to be a complex person with more to share than you do. And I love it when people disagree with me, so feel free to pipe up!

    Favorite Friend, like I said, it doesn’t happen all to often. Maybe I’ll put my thinking cap on just for you. We’ll be missing group tonight, so we’ll see you Sunday!

  4. Malissa Rob's Favorite Friend permalink
    August 9, 2011 7:58 pm

    Hey Rob, what happened? Nothing meaningless to say? Cat got your, well I was gonna say tongue, but you don’t use that when you blog! Anyway… No movie reviews? Nothing? (insert HUGH sigh here) Whatever 😦

Leave a Reply

